If you are following a creator you will automatically receive text notifications that keep you updated on their profile activity. To turn off text notifications for a specific creator you will need to 'unfollow' them. You can unfollow by going to a creator's profile and hitting the unfollow button. You can view who you are following by going to settings > following.
You will still be able to view their public content by going to their profile. If you are subscribed to a creator you will still be able to see their premium content as well.